Over the years, AAJA Sacramento has been fortunate to be led by dedicated leaders who have worked hard to advance our mission of diversity and inclusion.

AAJA Sacramento was founded in 1985, the fourth chapter to join what is now an organization of more than 1,600 members in 20 chapters across the United States and Asia.

AAJA Sacramento has been recognized with several national AAJA awards, including Chapter of the Year in 2006 and 2010; Sandy Louey named Chapter President of the Year in 2013; and Pamela Wu selected as Member of the Year in 2015.

Chapter history

Student outreach at Sacramento State
Student outreach at Sacramento State

The luncheon focused on transitioning from college into the journalism workforce and featured News10 multimedia Web producer Maneez Iqbal, Sacramento Bee city editor Kevin Yamamura, and KCRA anchor/reporter Kathy Park.

Student outreach at UC Davis
Student outreach at UC Davis

The luncheon featured Naomi Lee, a producer at KCRA, Judy Lin, a reporter with the Associated Press, and Ryan Yamamoto, a sports reporter and anchor with News10.

Data journalism workshop
2014 workshop

AAJA Sacramento teamed up with ONA (Online News Association) Sacramento to hold a data analysis workshop with Phillip Reese, a computer–assisted reporting specialist at The Sacramento Bee. The workshop was held at the Bee’s office.

Chapter President of the year
Sandy Louey accepts the chapter president of the year award in 2013.

Sandy Louey, Information Officer at the California Energy Commission.

25th anniversary celebration
2010 fundraiser program

The chapter benefit, a photo showcase and silent auction, was held at the 20th Street Art Gallery.