Over the years, AAJA Sacramento has been fortunate to be led by dedicated leaders who have worked hard to advance our mission of diversity and inclusion.

AAJA Sacramento was founded in 1985, the fourth chapter to join what is now an organization of more than 1,600 members in 20 chapters across the United States and Asia.

AAJA Sacramento has been recognized with several national AAJA awards, including Chapter of the Year in 2006 and 2010; Sandy Louey named Chapter President of the Year in 2013; and Pamela Wu selected as Member of the Year in 2015.

Chapter history

Chapter members debut documentary

Longtime AAJA Sacramento members Ryan Yamamoto and Suzanne Phan were on hand for the premiere of their documentary, “Arnold Knows Me — The Tommy Kono Story” at KVIE. Kono was a Sacramento weightlifting Olympian who learned the sport while he was at the Tule Lake Internment Camp.

Chapter presidents honored
Chapter presidents honored

Chapter presidents of AAJA Sacramento were recognized in the program book for the 30th anniversary celebration.

Lonnie Wong presented with service award
Sandy Louey and Lonnie Wong

Lonnie Wong, FOX40 reporter, was recognized for three decades of service to the Asian Pacific Islander community at the celebration.

30th anniversary celebration
30th anniversary celebration

The fundraiser was held at the Elliott Fouts Gallery and featured Kevin O’Connor, chef at Saddle Rock, and Billy Ngo, chef and owner of Kru Contemporary Japanese Cuisine and Fish Face.

AAJA Member of the Year
Pamela Wu

Pamela Wu, Director of Marketing and Communications at the UC Davis School of Law, was awarded member of the year at the AAJA national convention in San Francisco.